NameServer: ns1.zoneedit.com OR dns1.zoneedit.com ?

Mel Smith

Hi:

I'm a very old newbie at this name server stuff.

But, I note that most name servers start with ns1, ns2, ns13 etc. However, in trying to get my name server working, I note that my zoneedit dns editor for my site recommends using dns1.zoneedit.com (or dns2, or dns3).

So, should I use ns1.zoneedit.com or dns1.zoneedit.com

btw, I entered a more complete problem description, but it was rejected here as inappropriate or spam.

Can someone help please ?

Thanks,
Mel Smith (in Mesa Arizona)

sproskin

Administrator
Staff member
Hello Mel.

You should use dns1(2,3).zoneedit.com.

The available nameservers for your domain are:
dns1.zoneedit.com
dns2.zoneedit.com
dns3.zoneedit.com

You can technically use ns1.zoneedit.com, however when we make quick changes such as in the event of a denial of service attach, we tend to change the dns1(2,3) records first.

Mel Smith

Hi Sproskin:

Thank you.

When examining my site (mesaeastpark.net) on zoneedit, I have the words:

"Active DNS Registration" displayed on the left of the pane.
On the right hand side, I have the following links: "DNS | EMAIL | NAMESERVERS | WHOIS | MANAGE"

When I click on 'nameservers', it says: 'No Name Server Delegation'. Then when I further click 'Edit', it shows me three default name servers:
dns1.zoneedit.com (and dns2., and dns3.). But when I select those and press confirm, it comes up with the following error message:

"[420] Authentication Failed" !

(btw, My site is registered with www.mydomain.com and I have set nameservers there to: dns1.zoneedit.com, and dns2.zoneedit.com)

I'm very confused now : (

Thanks for a ny further help offered.

-Mel Smith

sproskin

Administrator
Staff member
The reason you are seeing that is because the domain is registered with domain.com (http://www.domain.com/) so the delegation is not changeable on the Zoneedit side.